Symud i'r prif gynnwys
Cuddio Rhestr Erthyglau

16 erthygl ar y dudalen hon



I UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF WALES. AWARD OF SCHOLARSHIPS. At a meeting of the Senate of the above College held September 26th, 1899, the following Entrance Scholarships and Exhibitions were awarded on the result of examinations held the preceding week:— Henry T. Tristram, Carmarthen Grammar School (David Davies Scholarship), £40; Harry Tonkin- son, Wolverhampton Higher Grade School (Visitors Scholarship), £30; John M. Hughes, Towyn County School (Principal's Close Scholarship), £40; Gwendoline M. Hancock, Pembroke Dock County School (Commercial Travellers of South Wales' Scholarship), £20; Gwilym A. Edwards, Dolgelley County School (Close Scholarship) £20; John Llew. Davies, Alderman Davies' School, Neath (Keeling National Science School), £25; E. Dora Stansfield, Central Foundation School, Bishopsgate, London (Brereton Scholarship), £15 Marie E. Balding, High School, Hammersmith, London (Open Exhibition), £10; Marie G. Ison, Wyggeston School, Leicester (Open Exhibition). £10; May Foreman, Stockwell P. T. Centre (Open Exhibition), £10; Mary Jones, Holywell County School (Welsh Exhibition), £10; Henry E. Ruddy, Bala County School (Exhibition limited to can- didates under 18 years of age), £10; Claudia Thomas, Wrexham County School (Welsh Exhibi- tion), £10; Dora Price, School for daughters of Missionaries, Sevenoakes (Moiety of Open Exhibi- tion), £5; Decima M. Thomas, Llaneily County School (Exhibition limited to candidates under 18 years of age), £10; Norman P. Greig, Cardiff Higher Grade School (Welsh Exhibition), £10; M. E. Snoddy, Pembroke Dock County School (Welsh M E. Lewis, Llandovery County School (E. Davies, Brynteifi, Scholarship), £20; David Jones, Pencader Grammar School (R. Richards Scholarship), £20; William A. Griffiths Wellingborough Grammar School (Moity of Open Frederick L. Parry, Neath County School (Moiety of Ellis Eyton Exhibition), £5; Thomas Davies, Pencader Grammar School (Moiety of Welsh Exhibition), £5; Abel E. Jones, U.C. North Wales Bangor (limited to candid- ates of B.Sc. degree in Ada B. Burnett, Bridgend County School (Moiety of Welsh Annie Jones, Dr. Williams' School, Dolgelley (Moiety of Ellis Eyton Exhibi- Christopher J. Jones, Newtown Inter- mediate School (Moiety of Welsh Exhibition), <65; William Roberts, Towyn County School (Moiety of Weill M. H. Jones, U.C.W.' Aberystwyth (Cynddelw Scholarship) £20. ELECTION OF GOVERNORS. The following gentlemen have been elected by the various Electing Bodies as members of the Court of Governors of the University of Wales, for the ensuing 5 years. COUNTY COUNCILS.—Breconshire Messrs. William North, J. W. Yaughan, W. S Miller, John Thomas; Cardiganshire: Rev. Thomas Levi, Messrs. J. M. Howell, D. J. Williams, and Dr. Lloyd; Carmarthenshire: Messrs. John Lloyd, John Lewis, Wm. Jones, John Rees; Montgomery- shire Messrs. Hugh Lewis, Richard Hees., W Fairies-Humphreys, Richard Rees; Merionethshire: Messrs. Edward Jones, J. H. Jones, H. Hadyn Jones, Richard P. Jones; Pembrokeshire: Sir Charles Philipps, Bart, Messrs. Joseph Thomas, Robert Ward, Dr. J. P. Hamper; Radnorshire: Commander Evan Thomas, Dr. W. B. Davies, Messrs. C. C. Rogers, Robert Lewis Lloyd. MUNICIPAL CORPORATION.—Brecon Alderman William DeWinton Cardigan: Mr. Ifor Evans Carmarthen: Mr. John Lewis; Aberystwyth: Alderman Peter Jones Kidwelly Mr. Rowland Browne; Llanfyllin Mr. John Jones, J.P.; Mont- gomery Mr. E. Rees James; Pwllheli: Alderman R. Owen Jones; Welshpool: Mr. Charles. E. Howell; Haverfordwest: Mr. William Williams; Pembroke: Mr. S. B. Sketch; Tenby: Mr. C. J. Williams, SCHOOL BOARDS.—Breconshire: Principal Owen Prys, M.A., Rev. J. B. Jones. Mes rs. W. S. Miller and Owen Price; Cardiganshire Mr. T. Darlington H.M.I.S., Alderman Peter Jones. Major Price Lewis, and Mr. D. C. Roberts, J.P.; Camarthenshire: Lieut.-General Sir James Hills-Johnes, V.C., G.C.B., Professor D. E. Jones, M.A., Messrs. J. A. Williams, J.P., and J. Lloyd Morgan, M.P.; Merionethshire Hon. Charles H. Wynn, Rug, Revs. John Williams, B.A., H. Cernyw Williams, Mr. Thomas Darlington, M.A., M.M.I.S.; Montgomeryshire: Rev. W. S. Jones, Dr. C. E. Humphreys, Messrs. J. W. Dugdale, Rd. Williams, F.R.H.S.; Pembrokeshire: Messrs. J. Wynford Philipps, M.P., Richard Carrow, Revs. F. N. Colborne, Lewis James; Radnorshire: Messrs. J. O. Jenkins, Joseph Wilding, Edward Williams, Rev. Wm. Williams. PUBLIC ELEMENTARY SCHOOLMASTERS.—Bre- conshire: Mr. D. Fisher; Cardiganshire: Mr. D. J. Saer; Carmarthenshire: Mr. J. E. Jones; Merionethsire: Mr. Wm. Roberts; Montgomery- shire: Mr. Edwin Jones; Pembrokeshire: Mr. William Scourfield; Radnorshire: Mr. J. S. Park- house. HEBDOMADAL COUNCIL OF THE UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD.—Messrs. Lewis W. James, M.A., J. A. Doyle, M.A., Owen M. Edwards, M.A., M.P. COUNCIL OF THE SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE.—Principal Isambard Owen, M.A., Professor J. W. Angus, M.A., Dr. R.D.Roberts, M.A., D.Sc., J.P. SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LONDON.— Professor Herford, Litt.D., M.A., Professor A. S. Wilkins, Litt.D., M.A., Sir John Williams, Bart., M.D,



-----------_-----_--_ London…

The Great Welsh Dead.




-- - ------- - THE MARKETS.

Family Notices



O Holy Trinity Church.


--------- ----------__-Death…